Skip to content

A hospital in Montélimar uses virtual reality to rehabilitate patients - Le Dauphiné.com - 07/11/2021

Virtual reality is a technological solution increasingly used by hospitals. In Montélimar, a helmet linked to a dynamic platform is now used to rehabilitate patients, particularly stroke victims.

Montélimar Hospital

 

The patient equipped with the virtual reality headset visualises herself on a platform in front of a colourful landscape.
The physiotherapist varies the inclinations of the rehabilitation platform from front to back and laterally to work on balance.
to the side to improve her balance.

If there weren't several white coats around, you'd almost forget you were in a hospital. For a month now, a room in the GHPP has looked like a video game room: a dynamic posturography platform is now operational, connected to a computer screen and a virtual reality headset. A headset that can also be used with the driving simulator installed next door.

These new tools should help in the management of post-stroke patients, but also patients suffering from balance problems linked to ENT problems or suffering from neurological disorders. " This was developed by a physiotherapist from Montpellier who wanted to go beyond vestibular physiotherapy (editor's note: treating vertigo)," explains Alis Sandu, a physiotherapist at the GHPP (which also offers outpatient consultations).

The platform, thanks to sensors, offers controlled and quantifiable 360-degree movements, associated with different immersive virtual reality programmes. " This first gives us information on the position and posture of patients, to make an accurate assessment and then it allows us to propose rehabilitation exercises always on the platform," continues the physiotherapist. It is possible to set the speed, the time to hold a position... and to vary the difficulty with an inclination of up to 12 degrees. "And the platform can support up to 200 kg. The patient is in a safe environment," says Alis Sandu. " We can offer 30-minute sessions depending on the pathology and the patient's fatigue level, of course.
"We are rather surprised by the fact that the elderly easily adhere to these new virtual reality tools", rejoices Dr Guillaume Dorey, in charge of the sports medicine department. A rather playful side that can also help to better accept rehabilitation. And because it is not always possible for a physiotherapist to place a patient in real conditions, Alis Sandu believes that this platform offers vast perspectives. "It allows us to better adapt to the reality, for example, of patients who suffer from visual scrolling disorders. It is difficult to take them up an escalator. And Dr Heroum, head of the neurology department, continues: "It can also be used for mirror therapy (editor's note: this aims to stimulate damaged brain areas to compensate for deficient areas) in order to stimulate brain plasticity.
In particular, in the context of the treatment of stroke victims suffering from hemiplegia. A tool that comes in addition to the classic global care provided by practitioners, occupational therapists and physiotherapists. " After a stroke, 25% of patients retain significant and disabling neurological after-effects," says Dr Heroum. Re-education is therefore very important, as he keeps reminding us.
A global investment of some 60,000 euros.

Article Le Dauphiné.com - 10/11/21

Did you like this publication?

Share on facebook
Share
Share on twitter
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on pinterest
Share
Demonstration request

Please complete the form so that we can study your request for a demonstration.

Demonstration request

Please complete the form and one of our team members will get back to you momentarily. Typical response times are within 24hrs.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Please complete the form so that we can register you for our Newsletter.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please complete the form below to register for our newsletter:

Registration
Newsletter

Follow all our news by subscribing to our newsletter:

Skip to content

À l’hôpital de Montélimar, la réalité virtuelle pour rééduquer des patients – Le Dauphiné.com – 07/11/2021

La réalité virtuelle est une solution technologique de plus en plus utilisée par les hôpitaux. À Montélimar, un casque relié à une plateforme dynamique, participe désormais à la rééducation de patients, notamment des victimes d’AVC.

Hôpital Montélimar

 

La patiente équipée du casque de réalité virtuelle se visualise sur une plateforme devant un paysage coloré.
La kinésithérapeute fait varier les inclinaisons de la plateforme de rééducation d’avant vers l’arrière comme
latéralement pour faire travailler l’équilibre.

S’il n’y avait plusieurs blouses blanches autour de nous, on en oublierait presque qu’on est à l’hôpital. Depuis un mois maintenant, une pièce du GHPP a pris des airs de salle de jeux vidéo : une plateforme de  posturographie dynamique est désormais opérationnelle, reliée à un écran d’ordinateur et à un casque de réalité virtuelle. Un casque qui peut aussi être utilisé avec le simulateur de conduite installé juste à côté.

Ces nouveaux outils doivent aider à la prise en charge des patients post-AVC, mais aussi des patients souffrant de troubles d’équilibre liés à des problèmes ORL ou souffrant de troubles neurologiques. « Cela a été  développé par un kiné montpelliérain qui voulait aller au-delà de la kinésithérapie vestibulaire (NDLR, traitant les vertiges) », explique Alis Sandu, kinésithérapeute au GHPP (qui propose aussi des consultations externes).

La plateforme, grâce à des capteurs, propose des mouvements à 360 degrés contrôlés et quantifiables, associés à différents programmes de réalité virtuelle immersifs. « Cela nous donne d’abord des informations sur  la position et la posture des patients, pour faire un bilan précis et cela permet ensuite de proposer des exercices de rééducation toujours sur la plateforme », poursuit la kinésithérapeute. Il est possible de paramétrer la vitesse, le temps de maintien dans une position… et de varier la difficulté avec une inclinaison allant jusqu’à 12 degrés. « Et la plateforme peut supporter jusqu’à 200 kg. Le patient est dans un environnement sécurisé », rappelle Alis Sandu. « On peut proposer des séances de 30 minutes en fonction de la pathologie et de la fatigabilité des patients bien sûr ».
« Nous sommes plutôt surpris du fait que les personnes âgées adhèrent facilement à ces nouveaux outils de réalité virtuelle », se réjouit le Dr Guillaume Dorey, en charge du service de médecine du sport. Un côté plutôt ludique qui peut aider à aussi mieux accepter la rééducation. Et, parce que pour un kiné, il n’est pas toujours possible de placer un patient en conditions réelles, Alis Sandu estime que cette plateforme offre de vastes perspectives. « Cela permet de mieux coller à la réalité par exemple, de patients qui souffrent de troubles du défilement visuel. Difficile de les emmener sur un escalator… ». Et le Dr Heroum, chef du service neurologie de poursuivre : « On peut l’utiliser aussi pour la thérapie miroir (NDLR, qui vise à stimuler les zones cérébrales lésées pour pallier les zones déficientes) afin de stimuler la plasticité cérébrale ».
Notamment, dans le cadre de la prise en charge des victimes d’accident vasculaire cérébral, souffrant d’hémiplégie. Un outil qui vient en plus de la prise en charge globale classique faite par les praticiens,  ergothérapeutes et kinésithérapeutes. « Après un AVC, 25 % gardent des séquelles neurologiques importantes et invalidantes », rappelle le Dr Heroum. La rééducation est donc très importante, comme il ne cesse de  le rappeler.
Un investissement global de quelque 60 000 euros.

Article Le Dauphiné.com – 10/11/21

Vous avez aimé cette publication ?

Share on facebook
Partager
Share on twitter
Partager
Share on linkedin
Partager
Share on pinterest
Partager
Demande de démonstration

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous étudier votre demande de démonstration.

Demonstration request

Please complete the form and one of our team members will get back to you momentarily. Typical response times are within 24hrs.

S'inscrire à la Newsletter

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous inscrire à notre Newsletter.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please complete the form below to register for our newsletter:

Inscription
Newsletter

Suivez toute notre actualité en vous inscrivant à notre newsletter :