Skip to content

Sports Medicine – The impact of Virtual Reality on treating athletes to return to sports performance

Article written by Sylvain Desquerre, Masseur-Kinésithérapeute.

Historically, the major players in virtual reality (VR) have been the military, airline industry, space agencies (ie : NASA), and video game manufacturers. The video game industry first developed virtual reality for the general public and has helped make it accessible for therapeutic purposes [1].

Rehabilitation and sports performance professionals are finding increasing relevance of VR applications. MRI showing brain activity corresponding to pain. On the left, without VR. Right, with VR.

Kinesiophobia can arise during rehabilitation of the athlete following an injury. VR proves to be a formidable weapon to counter this phenomenon.

In Seattle, a study from the University of Washington showed that virtual reality use reduced the amount of time that participants thought about pain by 44%, reduced emotional pain by 45%, and reduced sensory pain scores by 30% (Figure 1). As pain decreases in intensity and becomes less distressing, patients adopt fewer avoidance strategies [2].

The immersive aspect of VR therefore helps to combat kinesiophobia. During the early stages of rehabilitation, VR allows the athlete to carry out movements of very low amplitude and, while diverting attention from the pain, to achieve normal range of motion faster.

A review of eighteen studies on VR published in 2018 further highlighted that increased immersion in VR improves navigation task performance, assignment accuracy, and postural instability [3].

Also related to performance, a 2019 study on young karate athletes showed that integrating virtual reality into the athlete's daily practice was useful in improving recognition of the opponent's type of attack so that athletes could anticipate and improve their response time and decision-making. Where other studies only assumed an increase in motivation, Petri et al. (2019) statistically proved this increase in anticipation and decision-making. The excitement came from the ability of the fighter to try new movements and reactions in a safe environment [4].

In the later stages of rehabilitation, Gokeler et al. (2016) showed that athletes cleared for return to sport following ACL reconstruction had altered movement patterns in the surgical knee, resulting in a risk of relapse or injury to the contralateral limb. Rehabilitation with VR improved these patterns, approximating those of healthy subjects. Immersive virtual reality can improve return to sport criteria and motor learning in rehabilitation to decrease the risk of relapse in post-ACL reconstruction patients [5].

As physical therapists, we know that the psychological aspect of athletes is also extremely important. In VR it is possible to recreate an environment close to the competition, which is very useful for stress management. Visual perception, anticipation, reaction time, and decision-making are also critical factors simulated in VR. A 2019 study on basketball players' decision-making shows transferable and generalized gains through the use of VR [6].

Imagine dodging a flying object in virtual reality, which involves reading the trajectory, coordinating vision and body movement, incorporating proprioceptive and vestibular processing to maintain balance, and so on. Now transfer this to a maneuver to a defensive action in boxing or a dodge in fencing.

Of course, VR will not replace the real conditions of a sports practice, but it shows potential. Although still being explored, the future of VR in rehabilitation remains more than encouraging. It is a customizable tool, that can be used in early rehabilitation to fight against kinesiophobia, through the advanced phases of rehab and return to sport. It is possible to work on various aspects such as joint amplitude of motion, precision, weight shifting, balance, coordination, reaction time, decision-making, even stress management. It is an effective as an immersive device and not only fun, but can track patient performance and motivate our athletes. VR allows the simulation of sports-like activity in a controlled, safe environment where parameters can be modified in real time.

[1] Katz, L., Parker, J., Tyreman, H., Kopp, G., Levy, R., & Chang, E. (2006). Virtual reality in sport and wellness: Promise and reality. International Journal of Computer Science in Sport, 4(1), 4-16.
[2] Hoffman, Hunter G.; Richards, Todd L.; Coda, Barbara; Bills, Aric R.; Blough, David; Richards, Anne L.; Sharar, Sam R. (2004). Modulation of thermal pain-related brain activity with virtual reality: evidence from fMRI. NeuroReport, 15(8), 1245-1248.
[3] Rose, T., Nam, C. S., & Chen, K. B. (2018). Immersion of virtual reality for rehabilitation-Review. Applied ergonomics, 69, 153-161.
[4]Petri, K., Masik, S., Danneberg, M., Emmermacher, P. & Witte, K. Possibilities to use a virtual opponent for enhancements of reactions and perception of young karate athletes. Int. J. Comput. Sci. Sport 18, 20-33 (2019)
[5] Gokeler, Alli; Bisschop, Marsha; Myer, Gregory D.; Benjaminse, Anne; Dijkstra, Pieter U.; van Keeken, Helco G.; van Raay, Jos J. A. M.; Burgerhof, Johannes G. M.; Otten, Egbert (2016). Immersive virtual reality improves movement patterns in patients after ACL reconstruction: implications for enhanced criteria-based return-to-sport rehabilitation. Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology, Arthroscopy, 24(7), 2280-2286. doi:10.1007/s00167-014-3374-x
[6] Pagé C, Bernier PM, Trempe M. Using video simulations and virtual reality to improve decision-making skills in basketball. J Sports Sci. 2019 Nov;37(21):2403-2410. doi: 10.1080/02640414.2019.1638193. Epub 2019 Jul 6. PMID: 31280685.

Figure 1 From: Hoffman, Hunter G.; Richards, Todd L.; Coda, Barbara; Bills, Aric R.; Blough, David; Richards, Anne L.; Sharar, Sam R. (2004). Modulation of thermal pain-related brain activity with virtual reality: evidence from fMRI. NeuroReport, 15(8), 1245-1248.

Author: Sylvain Desquerre - PT and former Captain of the French Waterpolo team

Did you like this publication?

Share on facebook
Share
Share on twitter
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on pinterest
Share
Demonstration request

Please complete the form so that we can study your request for a demonstration.

Demonstration request

Please complete the form and one of our team members will get back to you momentarily. Typical response times are within 24hrs.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Please complete the form so that we can register you for our Newsletter.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please complete the form below to register for our newsletter:

Registration
Newsletter

Follow all our news by subscribing to our newsletter:

Skip to content

Sportifs et rééducation en réalité virtuelle = performance et retour à la pratique

Historiquement, les grands acteurs de la réalité virtuelle (VR) sont les militaires, l’industrie aérienne, les agences spatiales et les fabricants de jeux vidéo. C’est le secteur du jeu vidéo qui a développé la réalité virtuelle pour le Grand Public et rend aujourd’hui accessible son utilisation pour des objectifs thérapeutiques [1].

Il se trouve que la rééducation et la performance du sportif trouvent dans la VR des applications de plus en plus pertinentes. IRM montrant l’activité cérébrale correspondant à la douleur. A gauche, sans VR. A droite avec VR.

En effet, l’un des points caractéristiques dans la réhabilitation du sportif est l’installation de la Kinésiophobie à la suite d’une blessure. La VR s’avère être une arme redoutable pour contrer ce phénomène.

Dans une étude réalisée à Seattle, il a été démontré que l’utilisation de la réalité virtuelle diminue le temps passé à penser à la douleur de 44%, réduit l’aspect émotionnel de la douleur de 45%, et l’aspect sensoriel de celle-ci de 30% (Figure 1). Lorsque la douleur diminue en intensité, elle devient moins pénible, et par conséquent les patients ont tendance à moins adopter des stratégies d’évitement [2].

La dimension immersive de la VR aiderait donc à lutter contre la Kinésiophobie. Cela permet pendant les étapes précoces de la réhabilitation, d’amener le sportif à réaliser des mouvements de très faible amplitude et, tout en déviant son attention de la douleur, à atteindre plus rapidement des amplitudes normales de mouvement.

Une revue de dix-huit études sur la VR publiée en 2018 a d’autre part mis en évidence que l’augmentation de l’immersion en VR permet d’améliorer les performances de navigation, de précision et d’instabilité posturale [3].

Toujours au niveau de la performance, une étude de 2019 réalisée sur des karatékas a démontré qu’intégrer un nouvel outil, à savoir la réalité virtuelle, dans la pratique quotidienne du sportif a été utile pour améliorer la reconnaissance du type d’attaque de l’opposant, les athlètes pouvaient ainsi anticiper et améliorer leur temps de réponse et la prise de décision. Là où d’autres études ne faisaient qu’assumer une augmentation de la motivation, Petri et al. (2019) ont prouvé statistiquement cet accroissement motivationnel. L’engouement est venu du fait que les combattants pouvaient essayer de nouveaux mouvements et réactions dans un environnement sécurisant [4].

En ce qui concerne les étapes avancées de la réhabilitation, Gokeler et al. (2016) expliquent que les patients qui avaient le feu vert pour une reprise du sport à la suite d’une reconstruction du LCA présentaient une altération de leurs patrons de mouvement au niveau du genou opéré, se traduisant par un risque de rechute ou de lésion sur le membre controlatéral. Une rééducation avec la VR a amélioré ces patrons, se rapprochant de ceux des sujets sains. La réalité virtuelle immersive peut améliorer l’évaluation des critères du retour au sport et la rééducation de l’apprentissage moteur pour diminuer les risques de rechute chez les patients post reconstruction du LCA [5]

En tant que kinésithérapeutes nous sommes bien placés pour savoir que la composante psychologique des sportifs est également extrêmement importante. En VR il est possible de recréer un environnement proche de la compétition, très utile pour la gestion du stress. La perception visuelle, l’anticipation, le temps de réaction, la prise de décision sont aussi des facteurs très importants qu’il est possible de simuler en VR. Une étude de 2019 sur la prise de décision des basketteurs met en évidence des gains transférables et généralisés grâce à l’utilisation de la VR [6].

Imaginons une manœuvre d’esquive d’un objet volant dans la réalité virtuelle, cela implique une lecture de trajectoire, une coordination entre la vision et le déplacement du corps, un travail proprioceptif et vestibulaire pour garder l’équilibre entre autres. Maintenant, transférons ceci à une situation dans le sport, une action défensive en boxe ou une esquive en escrime par exemple.

Bien entendu la VR ne remplacera pas les conditions réelles d’une pratique sportive, cependant son potentiel, bien qu’encore peu exploré, reste plus qu’encourageant. Il s’agit d’un outil en plein essor, permettant de réaliser une réhabilitation précoce en luttant contre la Kinésiophobie et d’aller jusqu’aux phases avancées de la préparation du sportif. Il est possible de travailler divers aspects tels que l’amplitude articulaire, la précision, le transfert d’appuis, l’équilibre, la coordination, le temps de réaction, la prise de décision, et même la gestion du stress. Il s’agit d’un dispositif immersif efficace, ludique, avec un suivi de score pour motiver nos athlètes, il permet de simuler des situations proches d’une activité sportive tout en restant dans un environnement contrôlé, sécurisant où les paramètres peuvent être modifiés en temps réel.

[1] Katz, L., Parker, J., Tyreman, H., Kopp, G., Levy, R., & Chang, E. (2006). Virtual reality in sport and wellness: Promise and reality. International Journal of Computer Science in Sport4(1), 4-16.
[2] Hoffman, Hunter G.; Richards, Todd L.; Coda, Barbara; Bills, Aric R.; Blough, David; Richards, Anne L.; Sharar, Sam R. (2004). Modulation of thermal pain-related brain activity with virtual reality: evidence from fMRI. NeuroReport, 15(8), 1245–1248.
[3] Rose, T., Nam, C. S., & Chen, K. B. (2018). Immersion of virtual reality for rehabilitation-Review. Applied ergonomics69, 153-161.
[4]Petri, K., Masik, S., Danneberg, M., Emmermacher, P. & Witte, K. Possibilities to use a virtual opponent for enhancements of reactions and perception of young karate athletes. Int. J. Comput. Sci. Sport 18, 20–33 (2019)
[5] Gokeler, Alli; Bisschop, Marsha; Myer, Gregory D.; Benjaminse, Anne; Dijkstra, Pieter U.; van Keeken, Helco G.; van Raay, Jos J. A. M.; Burgerhof, Johannes G. M.; Otten, Egbert (2016). Immersive virtual reality improves movement patterns in patients after ACL reconstruction: implications for enhanced criteria-based return-to-sport rehabilitation. Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology, Arthroscopy, 24(7), 2280–2286. doi:10.1007/s00167-014-3374-x
[6] Pagé C, Bernier PM, Trempe M. Using video simulations and virtual reality to improve decision-making skills in basketball. J Sports Sci. 2019 Nov;37(21):2403-2410. doi: 10.1080/02640414.2019.1638193. Epub 2019 Jul 6. PMID: 31280685.

Figure 1 Issue de: Hoffman, Hunter G.; Richards, Todd L.; Coda, Barbara; Bills, Aric R.; Blough, David; Richards, Anne L.; Sharar, Sam R. (2004). Modulation of thermal pain-related brain activity with virtual reality: evidence from fMRI. NeuroReport, 15(8), 1245–1248.

Auteur : Sylvain Desquerre – Kinésithérapeute et ancien Capitaine Equipe de France Waterpolo

Vous avez aimé cette publication ?

Share on facebook
Partager
Share on twitter
Partager
Share on linkedin
Partager
Share on pinterest
Partager
Demande de démonstration

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous étudier votre demande de démonstration.

Demonstration request

Please complete the form and one of our team members will get back to you momentarily. Typical response times are within 24hrs.

S'inscrire à la Newsletter

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous inscrire à notre Newsletter.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please complete the form below to register for our newsletter:

Inscription
Newsletter

Suivez toute notre actualité en vous inscrivant à notre newsletter :