Skip to content

The Freyming-Merlebach hospital has acquired a system using virtual reality for patient rehabilitation - Le Républicain Lorrain - 19/10/2021

In hospital, virtual reality for patient rehabilitation
Freyming-Merlebach

The Freyming-Merlebach hospital has acquired a system using virtual reality for the rehabilitation of patients. This additional tool allows this reference centre in follow-up care to open up new horizons in therapeutic management.

Virtual reality for patient rehabilitation at Freyming-Merlebach Hospital

Virtual reality is being used in hospitals for therapeutic purposes, for the rehabilitation of patients suffering from various physical pathologies or brain injuries. Photo RL /Stéphane STIFTER

A room in the Freyming-Merlebach hospital, a reference centre for follow-up care and rehabilitation, has been equipped to allow immersion in a virtual world. Inside, a computer, movement sensors on each side of the room, joysticks or trackers that can be attached to the wrists or ankles, and the indispensable virtual reality helmet. This is not a place for staff to relax, but equipment designed to open up new therapeutic avenues.

Freedom from constraints

Developed by health professionals, the Virtualis system "provides an additional tool to support the rehabilitation of our patients", explains Dr Catherine Achour, coordinating physician in physical and rehabilitation medicine (PRM). "Studies show the benefits of this system on rehabilitation management, which offers vast possibilities in many areas. Dr Achour says that "the patient is totally immersed in an environment where he can free himself from all environmental and sometimes physical constraints". This makes it possible, in a different, playful way, "to work, for example, on the amplitude of movements, on pathologies of the locomotor apparatus, up to back pain".

There are also diseases related to brain damage, such as hemineglect. "The patient forgets half of his body and also loses half of his visual field. This immersion in the virtual world allows him "to compensate, to learn little by little to reappropriate both his body and space". The doctor also mentions mirror therapy, used in particular for amputees, who often continue to feel pain on the missing limb. The software can simulate this and stimulate the brain to reduce the pain.

Parallel world, real benefits

"It is one tool among others, which comes in addition to the classic global care provided by practitioners, occupational therapists, physiotherapists and also teachers of adapted physical activities," explains Dr Achour. Teams that have been trained and are slowly beginning to get to grips with the machine. "It allows us to vary the way we treat patients, to work differently, with innovative tools," confides Noémie Muller, occupational therapist. "Another advantage is that we can adapt the exercises and their difficulty in real time, depending on the problems and abilities of each individual," and make things evolve smoothly. Thanks to an immersion in a parallel world, but in the end, the benefits are very real.

More than €36,000 has been invested in this equipment, which will soon include "a balance platform, also connected to this virtual reality system", says Estelle Desrumeaux, deputy director of the hospital. This technology will no doubt be deployed throughout the hospital.

By Michel LEVILLAIN - 19 Oct. 2021 - Le Républicain Lorrain

Did you like this publication?

Share on facebook
Share
Share on twitter
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on pinterest
Share
Demonstration request

Please complete the form so that we can study your request for a demonstration.

Demonstration request

Please complete the form and one of our team members will get back to you momentarily. Typical response times are within 24hrs.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Please complete the form so that we can register you for our Newsletter.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please complete the form below to register for our newsletter:

Registration
Newsletter

Follow all our news by subscribing to our newsletter:

Skip to content

L’hôpital de Freyming-Merlebach s’est doté d’un système utilisant la réalité virtuelle pour la rééducation des patients – Le Républicain Lorrain – 19/10/2021

A l’hôpital, la réalité virtuelle au service de la rééducation des patients
Freyming-Merlebach

L’hôpital de Freyming-Merlebach s’est doté d’un système utilisant la réalité virtuelle pour la rééducation des patients. Cet outil supplémentaire permet à ce pôle de référence en soins de suite d’ouvrir d’autres horizons dans la prise en charge thérapeutique.

La réalité virtuelle au service de la rééducation des patients à l'Hôpital Freyming-Merlebach

La réalité virtuelle s’invite à l’hôpital à des fins thérapeutiques, pour la rééducation des patients atteints de pathologies diverses, physiques ou de lésions cérébrales.  Photo RL /Stéphane STIFTER

Une salle de l’hôpital de Freyming-Merlebach, pôle de référence en matière de soins de suite et de réadaptation, a été équipée pour permettre une immersion dans un monde virtuel. À l’intérieur, un ordinateur, des capteurs de mouvement de chaque côté de la pièce, des manettes ou des trackers qui peuvent se fixer aux poignets ou aux chevilles, et l’indispensable casque de réalité virtuelle. Il ne s’agit pas d’un espace de détente pour les personnels, mais bien de matériel destiné à ouvrir de nouvelles voies thérapeutiques.

S’affranchir des contraintes

Développé par des professionnels de santé, le système Virtualis « permet d’avoir un outil supplémentaire pour accompagner la rééducation de nos patients », explique le Dr Catherine Achour, médecin-coordonnateur en médecine physique et de réadaptation (MPR). « Les études montrent les bienfaits sur la prise en charge rééducative avec ce système qui offre des possibilités vastes dans de nombreux domaines. » Le Dr Achour évoque « une immersion totale du patient dans un environnement où il peut s’affranchir de toutes les contraintes environnementales » et parfois physiques. Cela permet, de façon différente, ludique, « de travailler par exemple sur l’amplitude des mouvements, sur des pathologies de l’appareil locomoteur, jusqu’au mal de dos ».

Il y a aussi les maladies liées à des lésions cérébrales, comme l’héminégligence. « Le patient oublie la moitié de son corps et perd également la moitié de son champ visuel. » Cette immersion dans le monde du virtuel lui permet « de compenser, d’apprendre petit à petit à se réapproprier à la fois son corps et l’espace ». Le médecin évoque aussi la thérapie miroir, utilisée notamment pour les personnes amputées, qui souvent continuent de ressentir la douleur sur le membre manquant. Le logiciel permet de le simuler et de stimuler le cerveau pour atténuer cette douleur.

Monde parallèle, bénéfices réels

« C’est un outil parmi d’autres, qui vient en plus de la prise en charge globale classique faite par les praticiens, les ergothérapeutes, kinésithérapeutes et aussi les enseignants en activités physiques adaptées », précise le Dr Achour. Des équipes qui ont été formées et qui commencent doucement à apprivoiser la machine. « Cela nous permet de varier la prise en charge des patients, de travailler différemment, avec des outils innovants », confie Noémie Muller, ergothérapeute. « Un autre avantage est de pouvoir adapter en temps réel les exercices, leur difficulté, en fonction des problématiques et des capacités de chacun », et faire évoluer les choses en douceur. Grâce à une immersion dans un monde parallèle, mais au final, des bénéfices qui sont bien réels.

Plus de 36 000 € ont été investis dans ce matériel qui comprendra bientôt, en plus, « une plateforme d’équilibre, également reliée à ce système de réalité virtuelle », annonce Estelle Desrumeaux, adjointe au directeur de l’hôpital. Une technologie amenée sans doute à se déployer au sein de l’hôpital.

Par Michel LEVILLAIN – 19 oct. 2021 – Le Républicain Lorrain

Vous avez aimé cette publication ?

Share on facebook
Partager
Share on twitter
Partager
Share on linkedin
Partager
Share on pinterest
Partager
Demande de démonstration

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous étudier votre demande de démonstration.

Demonstration request

Please complete the form and one of our team members will get back to you momentarily. Typical response times are within 24hrs.

S'inscrire à la Newsletter

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous inscrire à notre Newsletter.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please complete the form below to register for our newsletter:

Inscription
Newsletter

Suivez toute notre actualité en vous inscrivant à notre newsletter :