Skip to content

Virtual reality at the service of rehabilitation in Port-La Nouvelle - L'INDEPENDANT - 21/01/21

Since the beginning of the month, the Francis-Vals hospital of Port-La Nouvelle is the only one in the Aude department to be equipped with a virtual reality device, intended for the re-education of patients.
An innovation imagined by a Montpellier-based start-up which is already offering spectacular results. More than 500 centres and practices worldwide have opted for these innovative solutions.

Neurologist Hafida Touzani notes the patient's spectacular progress After three weeks of use, it turns out that 50% of the rehabilitation time is saved.
This new equipment will further enhance the reputation of the functional rehabilitation centre at the Francis-Vals Hospital in Port-La Nouvelle. This "small establishment", which houses an Ehpad with an Alzheimer's unit and, therefore, a follow-up care and rehabilitation unit, has just acquired new technology equipment.
Precisely from a virtual reality device...
"It's a relatively large investment for us, a small structure with 40 inpatient beds and 10 day hospital places... But we don't have to regret it.
After three weeks of use, it turns out that you save 50% of rehabilitation time," explains the facility's neurologist, Dr. Hafida Touzani.
Specialising in strokes (cerebrovascular accidents) and the treatment of after-effects, the specialist points out that "the first three weeks of rehabilitation are crucial, determining the maximum recovery".

 

  • Several types of rehabilitation and care: "I discovered the system developed by the company Virtualis first in Perpignan, then in Montpellier. My colleagues were very clear about its effectiveness. I was immediately convinced," she explains. It's not just a tool for stroke rehabilitation. It's used to get orthopaedic patients working after amputations, but also to stimulate patients with Alzheimer's or Parkinson's disease or multiple sclerosis .

There are various software programs available depending on the pathologies, with several levels of difficulty. All of them are based on virtual reality immersion. "Whatever the age of the patient, the sessions generate motivation," say Dr. Touzani and Laurence Ditner, head physiotherapist at the hospital.

  • Spectacular results:
    And why does it work so well? "It allows for neurological recovery capacity," says Hafida Touzani.
    And to cite a very recent example. "A hemiplegic patient was immersed in a virtual reality activity requiring the use of both hands. After a 30-minute session, he had already regained sensation in his paralysed hand," says the doctor. All of the unit's caregivers have already adopted this new tool, which has the added advantage of providing the patient with conclusive statistics. "Each session is analyzed by the software and the progress is translated into graphs that further enhance patient motivation," says Hafida Touzani. There is no doubt that Francis-Vals will receive many requests to test this method of care.
    Not all of them can be met for reasons of capacity. However, Dr. Touzani tells us that the creation of a mobile team is in the planning stages...

TESTIMONY

Sabrina's in this program in Port La Nouvelle.
"It's my first really effective rehab."
With myopathy, this patient was able to make significant progress.
The goal is to regain her autonomy.
Sabrina, an Audoise who lives in the Montagne Noire, is a victim of myopathy, this orphan and underhanded genetic disease for which there is no treatment. It causes a muscular degeneration which requires regular care. "For the past five years, I've been following comprehensive three-week programmes to recover my reflexes, regain my stature and improve my walking ability," she explains. The problem," she adds, "is that in order to find appropriate care, I am forced to make my own investigations to find out where to go; orphan diseases are not taken into account, or very little. I have tested several facilities, but with no conclusive results. In 2020, because of the health crisis, I did not follow any programme. When I arrived here in Francis-Vals, I had lost all my abdominal muscles and was walking bent over backwards, with great difficulty," says Sabrina.
As an active person, her priority is to regain her independence. Rather than three weeks previously and because of her worsening condition, her hospitalization was planned for three months. Since virtual reality arrived at Francis-Vals, she has been attending regular sessions and proudly shows that her stature is once again almost normal. "And what's more, it's a lot of fun," she says. According to her, it is an undeniable "plus" to the classic programme of physiotherapy, balneotherapy or therapeutic yoga.
She adds that she reports in real time on her progress to the AFM-Telethon.

Virtualis, a pioneering company with dazzling success
Franck Assaban, a state-qualified physiotherapist masseur, has become an expert in the rehabilitation of balance disorders (three university degrees in this field), a field which he has practised in private practice. He very quickly identified all the potential that the use of virtual reality could bring to the care of his patients, thanks to its immersive and realistic aspect.

  • A very strong potential
    This potential was not limited to the treatment of balance and vestibular disorders, but had a much wider range of applications and is still far from being fully exploited to date.
    Franck is the first therapist in the world to have designed a rehabilitation software with a virtual reality (VR) immersion mask, as early as 2014. He therefore launched and decided to create Virtualis in May 2015 with one obsession: to work to provide therapeutic solutions and to advance patient care. He is the designer of software and platforms for assessment & rehabilitation; he has this double skill: health professional and virtual reality content designer. Each new application is addressed to the users of the solutions developed by Virtualis. He is regularly invited to international scientific congresses to present his work, to show the potential of RV for therapeutic purposes or to contribute his expertise as a therapist. The success of the start-up is dazzling. Currently, its therapeutic innovation, developed by healthcare professionals, equips some 500 practices and centres in 26 countries around the world.

Joël Ruiz

Did you like this publication?

Share on facebook
Share
Share on twitter
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on pinterest
Share
Demonstration request

Please complete the form so that we can study your request for a demonstration.

Demonstration request

Please complete the form and one of our team members will get back to you momentarily. Typical response times are within 24hrs.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Please complete the form so that we can register you for our Newsletter.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Please complete the form below to register for our newsletter:

Registration
Newsletter

Follow all our news by subscribing to our newsletter:

Skip to content

La réalité virtuelle au service de la rééducation à Port-La Nouvelle – L’INDEPENDANT – 21/01/21

Depuis le début du mois, l’hôpital Francis-Vals de Port-La Nouvelle est le seul du département de l’Aude à être doté d’un dispositif de réalité virtuelle, destiné à la rééducation des patients.
Une innovation imaginée par une start-up montpelliéraine qui offre déjà des résultats spectaculaires. Plus de 500 centres et cabinets dans le monde ont opté pour ces solutions innovantes.

La Neurologue, Hafida Touzani note les progrès spectaculaires de la patiente Après trois semaines d’usage, il s’avère que l’on gagne 50 % du temps de rééducation
Voilà un nouvel équipement qui va encore accroître la notoriété du centre de rééducation fonctionnelle de l’hôpital Francis-Vals de Port-La Nouvelle. Ce « petit établissement » qui abrite un Ehpad avec une unité Alzheimer et, donc, une unité de soins de suite et de rééducation, vient de faire l’acquisition de matériel de nouvelle technologie.
Précisément d’un dispositif de réalité virtuelle…
« C’est un investissement relativement important pour nous, qui sommes une petite structure de 40 lits en hospitalisation et 10 places en hôpital de jour… Mais nous n’avons pas à le regretter.
Après trois semaines d’usage, il s’avère que l’on gagne 50 % de temps de rééducation », explique la neurologue de l’établissement, le Dr Hafida Touzani.
Spécialisée dans les AVC (accidents vasculaires cérébraux) et le traitement des séquelles, la spécialiste rappelle que « les trois premières semaines de rééducation sont cruciales, déterminantes pour une récupération maximale ».

 

  • Plusieurs types de rééducation et soins : « J’ai découvert le dispositif développé par la société  Virtualis dans un premier temps à Perpignan, puis à Montpellier. Mes confrères ont été formels quant à son efficacité. J’ai été immédiatement convaincue », explique-t-elle. Cet outil ne sert pas  seulement à la rééducation post-AVC. Il est mis à profit pour faire travailler les patients en orthopédie, après des amputations, mais aussi pour stimuler des patients atteints des maladies d’Alzheimer ou de Parkinson ou encore de sclérose en plaques…

Il existe divers logiciels en fonction des pathologies, avec plusieurs niveaux de difficulté. Tous reposent sur de l’immersion en réalité virtuelle. « Quel que soit l’âge du patient, les séances génèrent de la motivation», affirment le Dr Touzani et Laurence Ditner, responsable kinésithérapeute de l’hôpital.

  • Résultats spectaculaires :
    Et pourquoi est-ce que cela marche si bien ? « Cela permet d’aller chercher la capacité neurologique de récupération », affirme Hafida Touzani.
    Et de citer un exemple tout à fait récent. « Un patient hémiplégique a été plongé dans une activité en réalité virtuelle nécessitant l’usage de ses deux mains. Après une séance de 30 minutes, il avait déjà recouvré des sensations dans sa main paralysée », affirme le médecin. L’ensemble des soignants de l’unité a déjà adopté ce nouvel outil qui, de surcroît, présente l’avantage de fournir des statistiques probantes au patient. « Chaque séance est analysée par le logiciel et les progrès sont traduits en graphiques qui confortent encore plus la motivation des patients », se réjouit Hafida Touzani. Il ne fait aucun doute que les demandes vont affluer en direction de Francis-Vals pour tester cette méthode de soins.
    Elles ne pourront pas toutes être satisfaites pour des raisons de capacité d’accueil. Toutefois, le Dr Touzani nous confie que la constitution d’une équipe mobile est en projet…

TÉMOIGNAGE

Sabrina suit ce programme à Port-La Nouvelle.
« C’est ma première rééducation réellement efficace »
Atteinte de myopathie, cette patiente a pu faire des progrès importants.
L’objectif étant de retrouver son autonomie.
Sabrina, une Audoise qui réside en Montagne Noire, est victime de myopathie, cette maladie  génétique orpheline et sournoise contre laquelle il n’existe aucun traitement. Elle provoque une dégénérescence musculaire qui nécessite des soins réguliers. « Depuis cinq ans, je suis des  programmes complets de trois semaines pour récupérer mes réflexes, retrouver ma stature et améliorer ma capacité de marche», explique-t-elle. Et d’ajouter : « le problème, c’est que pour trouver des soins adaptés, je suis contrainte de faire mes propres enquêtes pour savoir où m’adresser ; les maladies orphelines ne sont pas prises en compte, ou très peu. J’ai testé plusieurs structures, mais sans résultats probants. En 2020, en raison de la crise sanitaire, je n’ai suivi aucun programme. Quand je suis arrivée ici, à Francis-Vals, j’avais perdu tous mes muscles abdominaux et je marchais penchée en arrière, avec beaucoup de difficultés », raconte Sabrina.
En tant qu’active, la priorité pour elle est de retrouver de l’autonomie. Plutôt que trois semaines précédemment et en raison de l’aggravation de son état, son hospitalisation a été planifiée pour trois mois. Depuis que la réalité virtuelle est arrivée à Francis-Vals, elle suit des séances régulières et montre fièrement que sa stature est à nouveau quasi-normale. « Et en plus, c’est vachement ludique», se réjouit-elle. Selon elle, c’est un « plus » indéniable au programme classique de kiné, de balnéo ou de yoga thérapeutique.
Elle précise d’ailleurs rendre compte en temps réel de ses progrès à l’AFM-Téléthon.

Virtualis, une société pionnière au succès fulgurant
Franck Assaban, masseur kinésithérapeute diplômé d’Etat, est devenu un expert en rééducation des troubles de l’équilibre (trois diplômes universitaires dans ce domaine), domaine qu’il a pratiqué en cabinet libéral. Il a très rapidement identifié tout le potentiel que pouvait amener l’utilisation de la réalité virtuelle dans la prise en charge de ses patients, grâce à son aspect immersif et réaliste.

  • Un très fort potentiel
    Ce potentiel ne s’arrêtait pas à la prise en charge des troubles de l’équilibre et vestibulaires mais avait un champ d’applications bien plus large et loin encore d’être complètement exploité à ce jour.
    Franck est le premier thérapeute dans le monde, à avoir conçu un logiciel de rééducation avec un masque d’immersion en réalité virtuelle (VR), dès 2014. Il s’est donc lancé et a décidé de créer Virtualis en mai 2015 avec une obsession : oeuvrer pour fournir des solutions à visée thérapeutique et faire progresser la prise en charge des patients. Il est le concepteur des logiciels et des plateformes de bilans & rééducation ; il possède cette double compétence : professionnel de santé et concepteur de contenu en réalité virtuelle. Chaque nouvelle application est adressée aux utilisateurs des solutions développées par Virtualis. Il est régulièrement invité à des congrès scientifiques internationaux pour présenter son travail, montrer le potentiel de la VR à visée thérapeutique ou apporter son expertise en tant que thérapeute. Le succès de la start-up est fulgurant. Actuellement, son innovation thérapeutique développée par des professionnels de santé équipe quelque 500 cabinets et centres dans 26 pays du monde.

Joël Ruiz

Vous avez aimé cette publication ?

Share on facebook
Partager
Share on twitter
Partager
Share on linkedin
Partager
Share on pinterest
Partager
Demande de démonstration

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous étudier votre demande de démonstration.

S'inscrire à la Newsletter

Veuillez compléter le formulaire afin que nous puissions vous inscrire à notre Newsletter.

Inscription
Newsletter

Suivez toute notre actualité en vous inscrivant à notre newsletter :